Hands That Serve Are Holier Than Lips That Pray

“I am in every heart,
That is the Temple where I dwell”… 
When His life has been His message,
To make His message,
My life,

My understanding does me compel…

From work that day,
I signed off early,
I had to rush to the temple,
To meet my family,
As I reached the temple,
I spotted an animal,
That needed help,
Her wound seemed maggot infested,
Enough already, she may have bled…

Caught in a dilemma was I,
The family needed me in there,
And this calf needed immediate care,
Even as I wondered what to do,
From the corner of my eye,
I happened to spy,
A picture of Beloved Bhagawan Sri Sathya Sai…
It was a small car sticker display,
That made up my mind that day,
For through it the Beloved One did say –
“Hands that Serve are Holier than Lips that Pray,”
And I had to do as He said,
Come what may…

…while I was trying to help that wounded calf,
Some around me were busy having a laugh,
Eyeing me with disdain,
Wondering what I had to gain,
Nonchalance did compassion burn,
…with not even an iota of concern,
They used sticks on her to make her turn,
Away from them,
…the foul smell of the wound,
They wanted to stem,
Plodding and pushing her around in the rain,
Complete disregard for the fright, the  oozing blood or the pain…
…too busy making money?
…too steeped in material cares to see?
…to dare…to care?
…to give a helping hand to a fellow being in need?
…to that inner voice to pay some heed?
…I began to wonder about ‘Humanity’,
…buried deep within…a ‘has been’,
…wasn’t it supposed to reign free…?
I stopped short,
Reining in my thoughts,
Quickly,
Thankfully,
For my change in attitude,
Releasing a prayer of gratitude,
To Mother Sai for ‘saving’ me,
For ‘That’ presence in my life,
That opened me,
To another’s pain and strife…

As I saw the calf being driven away,
In the ‘Animal Ambulance’ that day,
I did realize deeply,
That I was indeed in the ‘temple’ with my ‘family’,
As I was supposed to be,

With a little awareness,
This can be so all the time naturally,
For all creatures,
Came from the Beloved One clearly,
And oft has He specified directly –
“I am in every heart,
That is the Temple where I dwell”…
That calf was ‘family’,
And through every heart,
That does beat around me,
There is always a temple,

Where He does dwell,
When His life is His message,
To make His message my life,
My understanding does me compel…

About For Beloved Mother Sai

Breathing Beloved Every Single Moment Of Living!!! Tum Shwaas Ho!...Tum Pass Ho!!...Tum Vishwaas Ho!!!
This entry was posted in Animals Have Feelings Too, Harmony Of Compassion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

